School of Physics Committees

2015-2016: Assignments and Responsibilities (August 17, 2015)

Administrative Functions

  • Chair: Laguna
  • Associate Chair for Graduate Program: Ballantyne
  • Associate Chair for Undergraduate Program: Kennedy
  • Associate Chair for Physics Education:  Schatz


  1. Faculty Advisory (elected): TBD
  2. Faculty Search: TBD
  3. Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure: Cadonati, Conrad, Curtis, Grigoriev, Sa de Melo, Uzer (Chair), Wise
  4. Periodic Peer Review: Cadonati, Conrad, Curtis, Grigoriev, Sa de Melo, Uzer (Chair), Wise
  5. Graduate Program: Ballantyne (Chair), Cadonati, First, Niebuhr, Raman, Sowell, Sponberg, Wiesenfeld
  6. Undergraduate Program:  Kennedy (Chair), Kindermann, Matsumoto, Otte, Pustilnik, Sa de Melo, Schatz, Scherbakov, Zangwill
  7. Introductory Physics Program: Bogdanovic, Curtis, Darnton, Fenton, Greco, Jarrio, Mourigal, Murray, Rocklin, Schatz (Chair), Wiesenfeld
  8. Safety and Facilities: Davidovic, Garner, Goldman (Chair), Jiang, Parker, Taboada, Trebino
  9. Colloquium: Bogdanovic, Cvitanovic (Chair), Fernandez-Nieves, Kim, Tan, Zangwill
  10. Computer: Cvitanovic, Fenton, Gumbart, Taboada (Chair), Wallom, Wise
  11. Awards and Fellowships: Chapman, de Heer, Fernandez-Nieves, Goldman, Grigoriev (Chair), Shoemaker

Other Responsibilities

  • Elected Members of Academic Senate & General Faculty Assembly: Ballantyne (2015-18), Fenton (2015-18)
  • DoTE, Director of Teaching Effectiveness (CoS): Kennedy
  • Dean’s RPT Advisory Committee: Chapman
  • GT1000: Greco
  • Student Physics Society Advisor: Greco
  • Society of Women in Physics Advisor: Shoemaker
  • Astronomy Club Advisor: Sowell
  • Outreach Coordinators: Greco, Sowell